Working With Central Projects in the Central Portal

This topic describes how to work with Central projects in the Central Portal. It is divided into:

Projects, project branches and revisions are added to Central using Leapfrog. See the New Central Projects topic in the Leapfrog Geo 6.0 help for more information.

Displaying the Projects List

The Central Portal Projects tab has two project views. The first is a grid view that shows thumbnails of each project:

The list view displays what permissions you currently have for each project and gives you the option to delete a project. Switch between the two by clicking the button at the top of the Projects list:

In both views, you can search for projects. Simply start typing a project’s name in the Search Projects box to start narrowing down the list of projects:

Note also that the sidebar is hidden the view above, which gives you more space for viewing project data in your browser window.

Active and Inactive Projects

User access to projects is controlled in two ways. The first way is by giving users permission to access a project. The second way is by making projects active or inactive. You can manage what projects are currently active from the Projects list, where inactive projects are indicated using the INACTIVE label. In this example, the Angel Bright Canyon project is inactive:

To change a project’s status, click on the project in the Projects list. In the Overview tab, click the Status switch next to the Active or Inactive label:

Deleting a Project

To delete a project, click Projects, then display the projects as a list. Click the delete button for the project you wish to delete:

You will be asked to confirm your choice by entering the project name. This ensures you do not accidentally delete the wrong project, as deleting a project cannot be reversed.

Viewing Project Details

To view a project’s details, click on a project in the Projects list. An overview of the project is shown, along with a series of tabs that provide you with more control over the project:

To change the project’s name, click on it and start typing.

You can change the name of the Location as well as the specific Latitude and Longitude used to reference the location in the same way.

The History list shows all revisions in a project, organised by branch, along with the latest comments made on the project:

Click on a revision ID to view project data in 3D and discuss it with your team. See Visualising Data in the Central Portal for more information.

To manage revisions, click the All History link, which will open the History tab. See Managing Project Revisions for more information.

The Events list shows all events relating to the selected project. Click the All Events link, which will open the Events tab. See Viewing Project Events for more information.

If the Events list is not visible, widen your browser window.

Managing Project Users

There are four levels of project permissions in Central: Owner, Editor, Viewer+Export and Viewer.

An Owner can:

  • Assign other users as the owner. A project can have more than one owner.
  • Configure and add an integration to a project they own.

A user who uploads a new project to Central is automatically assigned as the project owner.

Editor access allows a user to work in a project in Leapfrog.

Viewer+Export access allows a user to open a project in the Central Browser and export data from the project.

Viewer access allows a user to open a project in the Central Browser and make comments. They cannot export data from the project.

To manage a project’s users, select a project, then click on its Users tab. All users who have permissions for the selected project are listed.

Assigning Users to a Project

There are two ways to give users project permissions:

  • The first is by viewing a project’s details and assigning users via the project’s Users tab. This is useful when you want to assign multiple users to a single project. This is the process described below.
  • The second is by viewing a user’s details and assigning them one or more projects. This is useful when you want to give a single user permission to access multiple projects.

To assign another user to a project, select a project, then click on its Users tab. Start typing the user’s name in the Enter Email Address box. The list of users defined in the system will be filtered to show those that match:

Select a user, then select their permissions from the dropdown list. Give the user Viewer+Export access by ticking the Export box next to Viewer.

Click the Assign Users button to add them to the project.

You can also change the user’s project permissions in this list. Simply select the option required from the dropdown list. Changes made to permissions are automatically saved as you make them.

Removing Users From a Project

There are two ways to revoke a user’s project permissions:

  • The first is by viewing a project’s details and removing users via the project’s Users tab. This is useful when you want to remove multiple users from a project. This is the process described below.
  • The second is by viewing a user’s details and removing projects from their Projects and Permissions list. This is useful when you want to change a single user’s project permissions.

To revoke a user’s project permissions, select a project, then click on its Users tab. Click on the delete button for the user you wish to remove.

Managing Project Revisions

To manage a project’s revisions, select that project from the Projects list, then click on its History tab. The History list shows all revisions in a project, organised by branch.

Click on a revision to view more information about it, including any comments made on that revision:

The buttons at the bottom of the Revision Properties panel are for deleting a revision, deleting Leapfrog data and viewing a revision. You can also view these options by holding your mouse cursor over a revision and then clicking on the more button () that appears:

What options are available depends on whether or not the revision is the most recent on its branch and whether or not a Leapfrog project was published with the revision.

  • The Delete Revision option is only available for the most recent revision on a branch. This option deletes both the revision data and its Leapfrog project, if one was published with the revision.
  • The Delete Leapfrog data option deletes only the Leapfrog project, if one was published with the revision.
  • The View revision option opens the revision in 3D. See Visualising Data in the Central Portal for more information.

Unlocking Locked Branches

When a Leapfrog user locks a branch, it is automatically set to expire within a short period of time. If you need to unlock a locked branch before the lock expires, select that project from the Projects list. In the Overview tab, you can see branches that are locked:

You cannot unlock a branch from the Overview tab. To unlock the branch, click on the History tab, then select the revision that is locked. More information will be displayed, including the option to unlock the branch:

Viewing Project Events

To view a project’s events, select that project from the Projects list, then click on its Events tab. The Events list shows all events in a project:

 

Got a question? Visit the Seequent forums or Seequent support