Leapfrog Central Integration

The Leapfrog Central platform is a model management system. Leapfrog Central’s integration with Leapfrog Geo lets geologists work in different project revisions and publish models to Leapfrog Central. The Leapfrog Browser displays the project history so you can navigate through revisions and branches, explore models, view documents and annotations and make your own annotations.

Leapfrog Central projects can be downloaded and worked on locally in Leapfrog Geo. When you have finished working on a project, select which objects you wish to publish to Leapfrog Central and add notes about the revision. You can also publish existing projects to Leapfrog Central.

This topic describes how to set up and work with Leapfrog Central from within Leapfrog Geo. It is divided into:

To learn more about Leapfrog Central, see the Leapfrog Central help.

Enabling Leapfrog Central

To enable Leapfrog Central, open the Settings window by clicking on the Leapfrog Geo menu. Select Leapfrog Central and tick the box to enable Leapfrog Central. A Central Projects tab will appear in the main window.

When you connect to Leapfrog Central, you can download projects and work on them locally. To change the location where projects are saved, click the Change button under Project Management and navigate to where you want to save projects:

Setting Up the Connection

The first time you connect to Leapfrog Central, you will need to set up your connection. Request an account from your Leapfrog Central administrator, who will provide you with your login and connection details. Once you have these details, click on the Central Projects tab. Click the Add button to add a new server:

Enter the information provided to you by your Leapfrog Central administrator and click New user to enter your login token.

Create a password, then click Save.

Connecting to Leapfrog Central

Once Leapfrog Central integration has been enabled, you can see the status of your connection to Leapfrog Central in the lower lefthand corner of the Leapfrog Geo main window:

If you are logged out, click on the Central Projects tab and click the server you wish to log in to:

To hide the Central Servers panel, click the button:

Opening a Leapfrog Central Project

The Central Projects tab shows the projects available in Leapfrog Central. Click on a thumbnail to view the project’s history:

Leapfrog Central projects are organised into revisions and branches:

  • Different points in the modelling process are captured as revisions, which are specific points in time.
  • Any revision can be the basis for any number of alternate revisions, forming the start of a new branch.

These are displayed visually in a project’s history tab. Revisions are displayed chronologically, from the most recent down to the oldest. In the Graph, offshoots from a revision are branches where an alternative hypothesis has been investigated. Changes made in a branch do not appear in other branches; branches effectively diverge from the base revision. The dots on the graph line up with the revision information.

To view more information about a revision, click on it in the history.

The Project Stage is useful for promoting projects through an organisation’s procedures. For example, your organisation may have project stages defined that include “Experimental”, “Ready for Peer Review” and “Ready for Production”. Different stages are displayed in different colours so it is easy to see at a glance what revisions belong to each stage.

Select a revision then click Download to download a local copy of the project. The project will be downloaded to the location on your local drive specified in the Settings > Leapfrog Central window. Note that a new revision of the project has been created in the history, as an unpublished project:

Click the Open button at the bottom of the tab to open the project.

Work in the project as you would any other Leapfrog Geo project.

Publishing to Leapfrog Central

When you are ready to submit your project to Leapfrog Central, click on the Leapfrog Central button in the lower lefthand corner of the screen and select Publish:

Select the objects you wish to publish, then click Next:

In the next window, select whether or not to include the Leapfrog Geo project:

If you select No, other Leapfrog Central users will be able to explore and annotate your project in the Leapfrog Browser, but other Leapfrog Geo users will not be able to download and work on another revision of the project.

Project stages are useful for advancing projects through an organisation’s processes. If the project is ready to be moved on to a different stage, select a different Project Workflow Stage from the dropdown list.

Click Next. Enter information about the new revision. If you want to create a new branch, click the New Branch button and enter a name for the branch.

Click Next to begin the processes of packaging the project for publication. You will be able to cancel the upload once it has been packaged.

Once the project has been packaged, click Publish to upload the project to Leapfrog Central.

New Leapfrog Central Projects

There are two options for putting a project into Leapfrog Central:

  • Create a new Leapfrog Central project.
  • Put an existing project into Leapfrog Central.

Creating a New Leapfrog Central Project

Use this option to create a new Leapfrog Geo project and put it into Leapfrog Central. In the Central Projects tab, click Blank project. Enter a name for the project and click OK. A new Leapfrog Geo project will be created and saved in the location on your local drive specified in the Settings > Leapfrog Central window.

Work in the project as you would any other Leapfrog Geo project. When you are ready to publish the project to Leapfrog Central, do so as described in Publishing to Leapfrog Central above.

Adding a Project to Leapfrog Central

Use this option to add an existing project to Leapfrog Central. In the Central Projects tab, click Import. In the window that appears, select the project you wish to add to Leapfrog Central. If a project is already open, you can choose that project:

Click OK. The project will be opened and copied to the location on your local drive specified in the Settings > Leapfrog Central window. Work in the project as you would any other Leapfrog Geo project. When you are ready to publish the project to Leapfrog Central, do so as described in Publishing to Leapfrog Central above.

Disconnecting a Project from Leapfrog Central

Disconnecting a project from its Leapfrog Central server saves a copy of the project in a new location on your computer. When a project is disconnected, it will no longer be possible to publish the project to Leapfrog Central and its history will no longer be tracked.

If you wish to remove a project from Leapfrog Central, select Disconnect This Project from the Leapfrog Geo menu. You will be prompted to confirm your choice. Once you click Proceed, you will be prompted for a new location in which to save the project.